PSL 2016 Winner Season 1 – Quetta Gladiators vs Islamabad United Highlights

Final match of Pakistan Super League 2016 was played on 23rd February at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, which is located in Dubai. The game was played between Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators. Led by Pakistani cricketer Misbah-ul-Haq, Islamabad United won the match as well as championship. The game received helm public response as it was the first season Pakistan’s domestic cricket league.

Quetta Gladiators vs Islamabad United PSL 2016 Final Match Highlights

Quetta Gladiators vs Islamabad United Final Match Highlights

The match started with Islamabad United winning the toss and opting to bowl first. Misbah-ul-Haq took the decision of inviting the rival team to bat first. His strategy seemed to be effective in the heavy-pressure game when Gladiators’ opener batsman Bismillah Khan lost his wicket in the very first over. England’s famous cricketer Kevin Pietersen stepped into the ground after Khan was dismissed on the third ball of first over.

Quetta Gladiators vs Islamabad United PSL 2016 Final Match Toss

Young cricketer Ahmed Shehzad was strong at the another end of strike. Pietersen didn’t contribute majorly in setting up a huge target for the opponents and returned to pavilion after scoring 18 runs in 18 balls. Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara walked into the ground as the middle order batsman. The righty-lefty combination of two experienced cricketers helped Quetta Gladiators in surpassing triple digit runs in 14 overs.

Hitting 7 fours and 2 sixes, Kumar scored 55 runs in 32 balls. Shehzad too played a crucial role in forming a good base for the team’s overall score. The right arm batsman scored 64 runs in 39 balls. Shehzad hit nine 4s and 1 six to score those runs. After the fall these two skilled batsmen’s wickets, bottom order of the batting lineup failed to perform well in the end and the team ended up scoring 174 runs in 20 overs with the loss of 7 wickets.

Kumar Sangakkara

Andre Russell and Mohammad Irfan bowled well in the first half of the game. Russell picked up three wickets while Irfan grabbed two.┬áMohammad Sami and Samuel Badri picked up one wicket each while on other hand Dwayne Smith and Imran Khalid went wicketless. Though the Caribbean cricketer didn’t manage to impress the audiences with his bowling performance, he made a strong comeback into the game by scoring good individual runs.

The second inning of PSL 2016 final match kick started with the stormy performances of opener batsmen Dwayne Smith and Sharjeel Khan. After their partnership completed half century in fifth over, Khan was bowled out by N McCullum. Australian cricketer Brad Haddin, who served also as a wicket-keeper in the team, entered into the field to bat next. The two right handed batsmen (Haddin and Smith) played crucial role in taking up the team’s overall score to next level.

Brad Haddin

Hitting 4 sixes and 7 fours, Smith scored 73 runs in 51 balls. Partnership between the two monstrous hitters came to an end with the fall of Smith’s wicket in sixteenth over. Though the next batsmen Khalid Latif and Andre Russell failed to score maximum runs, Haddin continued to score the runs with a good rate. Skipper Misbah-ul-Haq batted next after the dismissals of players in middle order of batting lineup.

With the help of 2nd major contribution made by Brad Haddin, Islamabad United successfully won the game as well as the first title of Pakistan Super League. Haddin hit five 6s and two 4s to score 61 runs in 39 balls. The young Australian cricketer remained not out till the end of the match. With the loss of just 4 wickets, Islamabad United registered victory in the final game of PSL 2016 and became the first team to win the title.


PSL 2018 Schedule, Fixtures, Points Table, Standings, Results, Live Score, News © 2017 Frontier Theme